SUPPORT

BRIDGE BUILDERS

About us

ABOUT THE
BRIDGE BUILDERS

Across our political and religious differences, we have established the Bridge Builders Association - Centre for Dialogue Coffee. We are working hard to make it into a mass movement, where the individual citizen takes personal responsibility for the conversation. The goal is not for everyone to agree, but for us to develop and sharpen our ability to accommodate our disagreements and differences. This is a difficult challenge and can be a painful process, but it remains foundational for a vital and sustainable democracy.

Where will we put our efforts?

  • A bridge-building week in schools, where children and teachers are given tools to talk about differences and identify prejudices.
  • Establishing dialogue with closed environments where extremism and anti-democratic attitudes and norms thrive.
  • We want to turn our “conversation salons” into an institution in local communities
  • Organizing spaces for dialogue coffee in workplaces and elsewhere
Become a Bridge Builder!

Özlem Cekic

SECRETARY GENERAL OF THE BRIDGE BUILDERS ASSOCIATION

I’m noticing how distances between people in Denmark are increasing. Both on the right and left wing and among religious groups the tone is harsh. We have raised our voices so loud that we are shouting instead of listening.

People are distancing themselves from each other. Especially on social media, the language takes on a rougher character, and people quickly label others as racists and national traitors. I am concerned that we are losing our sense of orientation and turning our anger against each other rather than against those who seriously threaten our democracy.

Therefore, since 2008 I have participated and been the initiator of several projects whose purpose is to build bridges between population groups.

THE BOARD

Jane Sandberg

Museumsdirektør, Formand for Bestyrelsen

Andreas Kamm

Ærespræsident for Dansk Flygtningehjælp, Næstformand for Bestyrelsen

Flemming Rose

Journalist og forfatter

Emek Volkan Gürkan

Senior Systemudvikler

Katrine Ebdrup Damgaard

Head of Engagement Nordic Development Corporation

Lisbeth Jessen

Direktør i Anti-doping Danmark

Jair Melchior

Overrabiner i Danmark

Camilla Dolberg Schmidt

Projektchef i Østifterne

THE InitiativE GROUP

Özlem Cekic

Generalsekretær for Brobyggerne

Emek Volkan Gürkan
Simon Lund-Jensen
Devrim Ülgü
Vivi Larsen
Signe Olsen

EMPLOYEES

Özlem Cekic

Secretary general

Contact on mail
ozlem@ozlem.dk

Telephone: +45 61460764

Sofie Dahl Hansen

Project leader

Contact on mail
sofie@brobyggerne.dk

Telephone: +45 22346838

Simon Lund Jensen

Devolpment consultant

Contact on mail
simon@brobyggerne.dk

Telephone: +45 22346838

Margrethe Tougaard Møller

Student helper

Contact on mail
margrethe@brobyggerne.dk

Telephone: +45 22346892

Felicia Vognsgaard Hjernø

Student helper

Contact on mail
felicia@brobyggerne.dk

Telephone: +45 22346892

Nada Amir

Student helper

Contact on mail
nada@brobyggerne.dk

Telephone: +45 22346892

Ditte Hedevang

Academic intern of communication

Contact on mail
ditte@brobyggerne.dk

Telephone: +45 22346892

Sami Kleit

Student helper

Contact on mail
sami@brobyggerne.dk

Telephone: +45 22346892

Helene Juul

Academic intern of projects

Contact on mail
helene@brobyggerne.dk

Telephone: +45 22346892

Pia Nørager Seidler

Student helper

Contact on mail
pia@brobyggerne.dk

Telephone: +45 22346892

My cart
Your cart is empty.

Looks like you haven't made a choice yet.